Sunday 02/10/2022

Wakiso Gaints 3-1 Mbarara City: Purple Sharks Return To Winning Ways

Wakiso Gaints FC returned to their winning ways after defeating relegation strugglers Mbarara City FC 3-1 in the StarTimes Uganda Premier League Matchday20 encounter played at Kabaka Kyabaggu Stadium on Wednesday evening.

Sam Ssenyonjo got the opener in the first-half before Titus Ssematimba and Ivan Bogere rounded off matters in the second period.

Charles Sempa scored a consolation goal for the Ankole Lions from a spot-kick in the second.

The Purple Sharks started the better of the two teams aand got the opener through Sam Ssenyonjo who headed home Edward Satulo’s corner-kick delivery for a 1-0 lead in the 20 minutes.

Five minutes later Wakiso Gaints could have doubled their lead as they were awarded a penalty after a foul by Mbarara City custodian Elanga Martin on Kasule in the box area.

But Ssenyonjo missed to convert the resultant spot kick as he blasted his penalty high over the cross bar.

Action between Wakiso Gaints and Mbarara City (Credit: Sanyuka TV)

The score was 1-0 in favor of Wakiso Gaints FC at the interval.

After the restart, Mbarara City were awarded a penalty when Wakiso Gaints’ custodian Emukule fouled Seiri Arigumaho in the box.

Substitute Charles Sempa stepped and up scored from the resultant spot kick as he sent Emukule the wrong way for a 1-1 in 56 minutes.

But Titus Ssematimba restored the lead for Wakiso Gaints after heading home Tom Masiko’s delivery from a corner-kick for a 2-1 lead in the 72 minutes.

Titus Ssematimba Poses With His Man Of The Match Award (Courtesy).

Eight minutes to the stoppage time Ivan Bogere put the game to bed after scoring screamer from a long range to settle for a 3-1 win.

Victory means Wakiso Gaints remained in the 7th place with 30 points after 20 games while Mbarara City are in the 3rd place from the bottom of the log with 17 points from 20 games.

Confirmed Line-Ups:

Wakiso Giants XI: Derrick Emukule, Grant Matsiko, Simon Namwanja, Joshua Lubwama, Edward Satulo, Lawrence Bukenya, Ibrahim Kasule, Hassan Ssenyonjo, Moses Aliro, Titus Ssematimba, Sam Senyonjo.

Mbarara City XI: Martin Elungat, Adriko John, Othieno Steven, Otti Ronald, Dudu Ramadhan, Pitis Barenge, Swalik Bebe, Edwok Ronald, Jude Ssemugabi, Seiri Arigumaho, Henry Kitegenyi

omg ссылка